Skip to content

Birdsview Brewing, Concrete WA

September 12, 2011

Oh my gosh, I haven’t posted anything in so long I’ve almost forgotten how! birdsview brewing

Anyway, on our way up to Newhalem for my annual family camping trip Eben, my brother Tim and myself stopped in Concrete to get a couple growlers filled at Birdsview Brewing. First off, this place looks awesome from the outside and the inside does not disappoint, I wish it was closer!

It’s a small little brewery and the inside is lined with growler glasses from all over. If you bring in one they don’t have they’ll give you one of their own and fill it for you (or something to that respect.) But they have a ton; so you can’t just walk in with anything… however they do have a current list of the growlers they have online so you can make sure not to bring in a duplicate!

Now onto the beers…

I will say that I was a tad disappointed in the beers. Bummer. We tried a couple of them (Amber Lushus, IPA and Sweet Molly Brown) and they were all really sweet… too sweet for me.

Amber Lushus: This incredibly sweet Amber is brewed with maple syrup and had a really beautiful deep amber color. but honestly, if they would have told me it was brewed with syrup I probably wouldn’t have tasted it in the first place. It had no bitterness at all… However, when we arrived at the campsite we gave some to my grandpa and he loved it.

Sweet Molly Brown: Well, the name says it all. It’s sweet, it’s brown. But it probably should have been called Seriously Sweet Molly Brown, because the sugar content in this knocked my socks off. It’s brewed with molasses and while I love molasses in cookies I really don’t like it in my beer. I had guessed it was brewed with brown sugar. Yikes! Neither Eben, my brother or myself liked this one at all.

I.P.A: Unfortuantely, this beer suffered the same issues as the rest… to sweet! It was more of a bitter pale ale than an IPA, there just wasn’t that hoppy kick you find in a good IPA. oh well…

So maybe I’m glad birdsview brewing isn’t in my neighborhood… There’s room to grow, they just need to really work on perfecting those recipes. We’ll stop by again next labor day weekend and see if it’s improved.

cheers,

whit

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    October 8, 2011 1:22 pm

    The biggest issue wasn’t the immediate taste of them, it was the awfully sweet after taste that just kind of stuck around too long.

Leave a Reply

