Skip to content

Elk Head Brewing

July 27, 2011

This morning while searching for some fresh beer news, I ran across this blog article from the Seattle pi about a place in Buckley I’d never heard of; Elk Head Brewing. After reading this article I literally want to race down there and try all the beers he’s mentioned, especially the “Elk Dandee” which is a pale ale infused with dandelions, ginger and ginseng and the chili beer!

Here’s a little taste of the article.

“I’m instantly suspicious of any brewery that gets too esoteric with their choices in additives. I’m wrong about that, frequently, and always happy to be so but I approach any beer with more than three or four infusions as I would a sleeping rattlesnake. The last beer on the taps was “Elk Dandee”, a 9.2% ABV whopper of a Pale, infused with dandelions(!), ginger, and ginseng. I tasted it with a reflexive scowl already in place and relaxed the second it hit my palate. “Dandee” is a solid effort. This is refreshing, silky, and the exact opposite of overdone; subtle, immensely flavorful, and beautifully made. The fine, faint dandelion flavors – which I know quite well from my childhood experiments with dandelion wine, in my Virginia mountains birthplace – presents right up front, a mild, sweet tang that suggests fresh dill and bananas. Behind that, the ginger – which normally hijacks any liquid it’s mixed into – lays back prettily, adding a brisk bite without overdoing it. And the ginseng adds it’s signature note of radish to the finish, pulling the ale back from excess sweetness. As these Asian-inspired ales go, this is as good as I’ve found from any Washington Brewer.”

READ MORE…

Elk Head Brewing does not seem to have a website, but here is some more information:

Location
28120 State Route 410 E
Buckley, WA 98321
(360) 829-2739
Salud,
whit

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 1:23 pm

    Whitney,

    Thanks for the mention! If you go down to EH, be sure to try the darks, too. They aren’t my own personal taste but the Porter and Stout are both dead-solid English/Irish-style dry darks. My own fave, of course, was the Blast Zone and I’m probably going back for a larger growler tonight. Thanks for reading “The Pour Fool”!

    Steve Body

    • whitney permalink*
      July 27, 2011 1:31 pm

      I love dark beer, it’s a great caloric substitute for a meal, just kidding… well, sort of. I’ll be sure to check it out next time I’m heading through that area.
      If you ever have a chance, there is a tiny nano-brewery around my neighborhood that is always worth checking out. It’s called Foggy Noggin Brewery and is run out of the brewers garage. His hours vary, but its a great little spot with a fantastic up and comer!
      cheers,
      whitney

Leave a Reply

